8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am tinting the Si today and had to back out of doing it yesterday because they wouldn't go below 32% in GA. I did find a guy that would do it and have it scheduled for this afternoon. I won't put the 20% on the Driver and Passenger windows, but the rest are going 20%. I called one guy and he said the coast would be 1000.00 because if was going to be fined for doing it, he was going to make it worth his wild.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Not sure how your law enforcement does it but up here in NY we have certain officers who are qualified, with a meter, to check tinting. Usually though they don't check it unless someone has been a problem. I know quite a few of the officers since I'm a firefighter and they won't pull someone over just because they think the windows are too dark. I'll be looking in the spring to get my windows tinted too.

·
Registered
21,304 Posts
GeorgiaBoy said:
I am tinting the Si today and had to back out of doing it yesterday because they wouldn't go below 32% in GA. I did find a guy that would do it and have it scheduled for this afternoon. I won't put the 20% on the Driver and Passenger windows, but the rest are going 20%. I called one guy and he said the coast would be 1000.00 because if was going to be fined for doing it, he was going to make it worth his wild.
$1,000?! :eek: That's way too expensive to have your windows tinted! I'd never pay that. When I had mine tinted I paid $165. Prices usually range from $150 to $200. Shop around. You should be able to find someone to install it for much cheaper.

.....moved to Inside and Out.

·
Acorns!
17,760 Posts
1000 is totally insane to tint a car. I think the highest quote I've had on any car I've ever owned was $225. Like 2fast said - it shouldn't be anywhere near that cost.

·
Registered
245 Posts