8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm looking to purchase a civic si, just not set on the year yet. I'm actually coming from a 9th gen ex, I've been in love with the 8th gen looks and haven't been able to get over it. Initially, I was set on a 09 model, seeing as that's the year Honda refreshed the 8th gen. I don't want to spend too much on this car based on its looks, because I'm planning to eventually do the front and rear CTR conversion :dance:. I know I would be saving money dropping down to an 06-08 model, but how much would I actually be losing, cosmetically and electronically? (As in features: bluetooth, ipod connection, fog lights, the sorts). Thanks for the help, guys!

·
Registered
360 Posts
I'm new to the 8th scene, I just got an '11 FG2 a few weeks ago, I might be wrong on these but I did quite a bit of research before I made my purchase.

09-11 had the option to play MP3s via usb in the center armrest. Pretty sure iPod will work for all 8ths via AUX, no?

Bluetooth was only on the Navi models

06-08 didn't come stock with fog lights, it was optional. 09-11s it was standard equipment.

06-08 supposedly has problems with 3rd gear grinding which was supposedly rectified in the refresh, but multiple users with all years of 8th Si's complain of the issue, it's hit or miss really. I've not had a problem with mine yet but I haven't driven it bag off yet either.

Essentially the only difference between 06-08 & 09-11 is all cosmetic. 06-08 has different wheels (I like 09+ better personally). Different front end, 09-11 has a clear lens over the LED 3rd brakelight on the spoiler as opposed to red on the 06-08.