8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, im COMPLETELY new to the world of honda, all i knew before hand was that honda was reliable and that's what i need at this moment in life.

my first car was an 96 eclipse GS . . only about 140hp ish.. not the fastest car on the street, but good starting for me b/c i love eclipses.. and yes, it wasnt the fastest, but i felt pull .. maybe d/t being a small car?

second car was a 97 eclipse GSX.. had it for about 2 months then upgraded the turbo to a 14b, new fuel pump, kicked up the boost, bunch of other stuff, (the ssq bov was always fun to listen to) .. obviously that pulled like crazy..

so first car, non turbo, second car turbo w/ extra...

so anyways, the eclipse has too many problems (darn mitsubishi) so i SADLY said good buy and bought an 08 civic si sedan.. (i need the reliability until i get my degree in a couple months, plus i wanted to see the hype on the SI ..)

i FINALLY broke it in, and i was excited to see how this "vtech" feels. as i said, my first honda experience was pretty sad.. i did NOT feel ANY pull whatsoever... i understand that the sedan is more luxiourious/family oriented, but i figured close to 200 hp, i should feel something, right?

so i tried again on the highway and was near redline and still nothing..

got off the highway and tried from a stop and still nothing..

i had VSA off the whole time.. i understand that i could possibly still be going pretty fast for a stock sedan car, but i REALLY wanted to feel some sort of a pull, thats part of the excitement of driving..

so if you ended up reading this rant, i wrote this so someone can maybe say something to make me feel better about the civic.. i am disappointed, but i want to give it another shot..