8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

TSX cams need help please

69824 Views 198 Replies 51 Participants Last post by  Shadow_FG2
Hi,
Im interested in purchasing a set of 2006-2008 tsx intake and exhaust cams. Im new to cams, so any help would be appreciated.

Current Modifications:
-2008 Civic Si Sedan
-stock k20 engine
-AEM CAI V2
-Skunk2 header
-Fullrace 3" exhaust
-boomba motor mounts
-flashpro

my questions are:

-are tsx cams drop and go? no other engine mods needed? (aside from flashpro of course)
-how much do these cost brand new?
-whats a reputable place/website to you buy these from?
-how much do they cost to install?
-if you have a similar setup as mine, what performance gains did you make? feel free to share any dyno results
-how will these perform with a stage 2 supercharger?
-how will these perform with a skunk2 intake manifold and throttle body?
-how do these cams effect fuel economy?

thanks for your help. :dance:
See less See more
1 - 14 of 199 Posts
Power wise, the kelfords are actually going to increase your peak power.

on the low end they might be very similar in gains, but past 6k i would bet my money on kelfords making more.
Return the NST pulleys and spend the extra money on drop in cams instead.

Will blow the TSX cams out of the water.
do NOT buy new tsx cams. If you're gonna do that, you might as well purchase a drop in cam... Kelford 179-a are 650... skunk2 are around the same price...

drag cartel are 995 (exception... they're very expensive because they're billet steel)
TSX cams do not gain peak horsepower. A drop in cam will gain you peak horsepower AND midrange power.
I'm not concerned much with peak HP, considering I plan to have an ImportDPS SRI, J35 TB, RRC IM, Vibrant Header, and Go Power 3" Exhaust.