8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I put the title in quotations because Im sure this same kind of thread gets posted at least ten times a day. Anyway I am new to tuning, in fact I had a 2000 Si I left bone stock(i know a real shame) til i sold it a few months ago for my 2008 fg2. I recently have been reading all about tuning and being new to it all I am still nowhere near tuner savvy. I bought Cobb AP and it should be coming on thursday and one reason it was so appealing to me was because of the set maps. The problem is I am running a K&N typhoon CAI and Greddy Evo2 cat-back exhaust. I also have the stock header for the moment. So do I stick with the stage 1 or what are my options? Also I hear everyone say to use the software to custom tune but I was reading on the cobb site that its in beta testing and hasnt been released. whats the deal with that?

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
you guys arent answering my question and I did look into hondata but did u guys read the sticky comparing the two on this site? It seemed like Cobb was the better choice without a doubt.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Stage 1-stock header
Stage 2- Race header

if your just sticking with basic bolt ons then cobb isnt that bad of an option and its cheap. But hondata is way ahead of cobb right now and hondata has a lot more "set maps" elimates rev-hang and has map tuning.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Stage 1-stock header
Stage 2- Race header

if your just sticking with basic bolt ons then cobb isnt that bad of an option and its cheap. But hondata is way ahead of cobb right now and hondata has a lot more "set maps" elimates rev-hang and has map tuning.
Thanks, so for right now I will stick with stage 1 and in the future I will go to stage 2. I believe cobb now eliminates rev-hang i could be wrong tho.

·
Registered
721 Posts