8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I dont want to go to the dealer to get my MTF switched. Anybody know of a good cheap place I can go to get it done? I already have the Amsoil MTF ready.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats the point, I'm a noob to the city itself and wanted some leads to those reputable auto shops.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Cos the guy said it would void the warranty. But being a Mechanical Engineer, I do know one thing: IF my transmission does fail because of the Amsoil (which is highly likely), the dealer's mechanics are not going to take my fluid out and send it to a lab for testing just to prove it isn't the factory MTF. Plus, after the wear the oil is going through, when the oil comes out, its gonna look black as any other fluid.
So, does anybody know a reputable good auto shop around downtown Oakland or Alameda.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
By the way, i took a course in Tribology,,which is study of bearings and lubrication, so i just want to say i'm not kidding about the oil wear and tear in the transmission.

·
Banned
440 Posts
As long as it meets or exceeds factory specs, they can't void your warranty for using a different brand MTF. Just take it to the dealer.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Do it yourself if you can? Jack stands, ratchet, and a $10 suction gun. There is a DIY and if you can change your own oil, this will be no harder.

·
Registered
5,918 Posts
SiDaemon said:
Cos the guy said it would void the warranty. But being a Mechanical Engineer, I do know one thing: IF my transmission does fail because of the Amsoil (which is highly likely), the dealer's mechanics are not going to take my fluid out and send it to a lab for testing just to prove it isn't the factory MTF. Plus, after the wear the oil is going through, when the oil comes out, its gonna look black as any other fluid.