8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys,

I am new to the whole stick shift scene and my question to you is i have problems on steep hills at an incline. I currently use my Ebrake or Hand Brake to support myself while i steadily work my clutch foot and my gas foot and i slowly let down the ebrake. My question is does this hurt the car? i heard it does and if so any tips and advice for a incline hill when your stuck in traffic? It's very scary when i try not to do it with the ebrake because im not quick enough yet and also i peel out which is not good =).

·
Registered
1,969 Posts
choosta said:
Hello guys,

I am new to the whole stick shift scene and my question to you is i have problems on steep hills at an incline. I currently use my Ebrake or Hand Brake to support myself while i steadily work my clutch foot and my gas foot and i slowly let down the ebrake. My question is does this hurt the car? i heard it does and if so any tips and advice for a incline hill when your stuck in traffic? It's very scary when i try not to do it with the ebrake because im not quick enough yet and also i peel out which is not good =).
Just rev the engine 500rpm or so higher and feather the clutch. You should never have to use the e-brake.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Does it hurt to use the Ebrake? How much damage am i causing? It really easier for me to use it as of now since im learning.

·
Banned
2,406 Posts
let out on clutch til it slightly catches and add a lil gas and it should keep you in place, lil more gas and off you start going

·
Registered
5,818 Posts