8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
883 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
the other day i took a hard turn and my speakers cut out, but the sub still plays the bass in the song. about an hour later it was fine. today i took another hard turn and now the speakers wont play and the sub still plays fine with the songs from my ipod. i took out the deck and checked all the wiring in there, checked at all 4 speakers and it looks ok, but none of em play. i have kicker ds600s on doors and rear deck running off the deck and the sub in the trunk is amped, the only thing i can think of is that i blew a fuse but where would it be? and why would the sub still work and the deck still functions fine. just no sound from speakers.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I'm by no means a speaker expert, but it sounds like it may be too much power and/or one of the speakers back is touching some metal? Do you have spacers installed?

·
Registered
4,082 Posts
intriguing. . . I take hard corners all the time and even when my Pro-Cs arent doing that they rattle everything to death, and I still have no such problems, if it was a fuse though you would have NOTHING

·
Registered
883 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
they started workin last night at about 1am.. is it possible that my deck has a thermal shutdown feature? it was quite warm and humid for the last few days. maybe only on the amp in it? and thats why the RCA plugs still worked.
totally a guess but it seems to make the most sense to me at this point, i have the speakers in stock brackets so they have about a 1/2inch off the metal

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
This happened to a friend of mine about a week ago, it turns out that he was touching some metal. Redid the connections, wrapped them a lot in electrical tape, then bent them to make sure they wouldn't touch the metal and all is good now.