8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK i just bought a set of four rotors slotted and drilled. I mixed up the boxes where it said where each rotor went. I am not sure if they should go this way like the picture below

i am talking about the rotation of the of the rotor. Or is it this way

or does it matter? I installed them like the first pic, but now they are squealing when i hit the brakes and it came with new pads so i don't know if i has anything to do with that or something else.

any help will be appreciated.

thanks!

·
Premium Member
10,300 Posts
99% of all brake squeaking is caused by people not washing the oils off the rotor before installing. If you do not remove the oils the pad becomes contaminated and they glaze over. I've been a tech for 18 years and this is the main issue. Also when you first install new pads you should always seat the pads by doing a few panic stops to heat the pads up and transfer the pad material to the rotors. get them nice and hot but make sure you let the rotor cool down gradually or they will warp. Do not get them hot an drive through a puddle or cool them with water or something. Drive around normally for 10 minutes after getting them hot to cool them down.

Your rotation looks correct on the rotor. Usually the slots should curve towards the rear like you have it but some go the opposite way. It depends on the manufacturer. However they designed them. You want them to curve towards the rear so the rotation will spin the gasses and dust outwards to expel all the materials off the rotor. If the slots are facing forward the gasses will not be able to escape as easily. At least that's how I look at it.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·