8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to car audio and learned most of what I know from lurking on this forum.

I recently upgraded my stock audio system to the following:

Pioneer DEH-P5000UB
Infinity 6020CS in the front powered by Rockford Fosgate P200
Infinity Basslink
Dynamat extreme in the front doors

Pretty simple setup. Someone mentioned though that I should disconnect the rear stock speakers so as "not to disrupt the staging of the front". Not sure what that means exactly. Does anyone else recommend this?

·
Registered
378 Posts
it depends what you're looking for. If you need the rear speakers for people in the back, then no, leave them. Personally, I'm one for front stage only, but if you don't have a high end SQ system you probably won't know what the difference is,and will miss the volume from having a rear set of speakers.

My recommendation: try it, see if you like the way it sounds with a front stage only. If you don't like it then you have always reconnect the rear speakers

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
It comes down to what you prefer really and yeah, if you have passengers they kinda want to listen to music as well.

SQ cars are set up for "front imaging" this pretty much means that if you have an orchestra cd/live concert cd you should be able to close your eyes and hear the various instruments and point our their locations as if you were actually there as when you are at a concert the music comes from the front and not the rear.

I, myself, prefer the surround sound experience even with music and if you ever plan to have any sort of dvd/screen in your car front only speakers would be very lame IMO.

·
Registered
4,082 Posts
im running a DVD screen in the car, and ive disconnected my rear speakers, fact is without real dedicated processor that does 5.1 theres no real point since it just converts it to stereo output. . .