8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to car detailing and was looking at the thread about ultima and was wondering if i should buy the ultima kit or go with z-5 z-8 and P21S :help: . I have a black SI and a dark red car so was wondering which one will give me a better we look and gloss? Also money is a factor Cheaper is better

·
Registered
15,796 Posts
I'd go ultima. Zaino takes far too much to achieve good results. Sorry zaino lovers :( Having to put 5+ coats of crap on your car just isn't worth it when you can get that same look out of a nice polish/wax

·
Registered
11,919 Posts
Like I said in another response to one of the posts like this, I Vtec. Yes it takes a lot of time, but it does last longer. You only have to do the full-day thing maybe thrice a year at most, and most people will only do two with extra layering in between. it's there for longevity.

·
Registered
15,796 Posts
^^ You can apply a synthetic polymer from meguiars in 20 minutes that can last 6-8 months, and it shines very well. Applying a layer of wax over it which lasts for a few weeks make it really pop. I think zaino is just far too much work for what it offers.

·
Registered
868 Posts
I am new to car detailing and was looking at the thread about ultima and was wondering if i should buy the ultima kit or go with z-5 z-8 and P21S :help: . I have a black SI and a dark red car so was wondering which one will give me a better we look and gloss? Also money is a factor Cheaper is better
I like both products... each works very well. I work a lot of extra hours at work, come home the wife has a punch list of ish to do that I'll gladly put off till later... play with the kids and then the Si and Pilot are the last things that I can get to.