8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On another fourm that im not registered at someone said you don't know how to drive manual until you know how to rev match. Can someone please define rev matching for me? I have been driving manual cars for over 10 years and never heard of rev matching. Even in racing school never heard of it.
One other thing I've seen on another forum is people complaining about the rpms staying up for a second when they shift the gears up. When I take my foot off of the gas and push in the cluch my rpms fall immediately. Is this what is suppose to happen? Thanks

·
Registered
117 Posts
Let's say you are cruising in 5th gear 70 mph at 3.5k rpms and want to pass the guy in the front.
You downshift to 4th gear...

You rev to uhh... 6k rpms and let go clutch.

There you just rev matched.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Okay... when you downshift, don't you ever press on the gas pedal to get to higher rpms? If you don't your passengers will feel the nastiest knockback feeling. Or let's say you are cruising in neutral at 30 mph... and the green light just appears at the street. Don't you clutch, third gear, gas to 3k and let go clutch? Rev matching makes the shifting transaction much smoother. Racers do heel-toe down shifting... which is supposed to be even faster and better.

You've been driving stick for 10 years and don't know what rev matching is?

I've only driven a year and I know what the term means even before someone explaining in to me.

Man I wish I owned a new car. Even though I rev match, all my passengers get the knockback feeling since my car is SOOO OLD.

·
Acorns!
17,760 Posts