8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tore into it to correct a labor defect with the car myself rather then going through the hassle of making an appointment and the wait time etc for warranty work. I fix planes for a living, so car stuff is no big deal at all to me, so to save some time and ensure it's to my liking, I just did it myself. The back right corner of the shelf wasnt 'popped' down and was resting on the window. Noticed it cause of the vibrating during heavy bass and going over bumps, then of course it really stuck out to me after seeing that.

Anyways, in case anyone was curious...it's a pretty simple task overall, even for the not so mechanicly inclined if some caution is used. Doing it the RIGHT way is a major PITA though. There are 10 white plastic 'push pin clips' (4 across the back, 2 center, and 4 across the front), 4 spots where the shelf itself has clips built in on the edges, 4 'hooks' built onto the shelf across the front on the vertical part that the seat backs sit on, and 2 screws on that part also. What makes it a pain to do the right way is undoing the push pin clips from the back to not mess them up.....there is just really crappy access to most of em. What I suggest and is much easier is to have some spares, then carefully rip them up from their holes using the shelf itself, basicly just yank em out. You might mess a few up like that, but it's worth it.

Process:

1) release and lower the rear seat backs.
2) disconnect 3rd brake light (white/gray harness plug behind the trunk light, cant miss it)
3) remove the 2 screws (phillips)
4) push up on the front vertical part of the shelf to unhook it and pop the first row of push pins. the front side clips should pop up here also.
5) work your arms as far under the shelf as possible and pop the middle and back row of push pins.
6) feed middle seatbelt through the slot and remove the shelf.