8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, im new to the civic scene (coming from a 2000 v6 mustang) but im really leaning towards picking up the 09 si. I drove a sedan at the dealership yesterday and from my experience it was pretty fun to drive. It didnt have the torque that my current mustang does, but I really fell in love the feel of the gearing of the transmission. Quick and tight is a blast and the steering and handeling is leagues apart from the mustang as well. I didnt think the mustang was as sloppy in the corners as it truely is....

Anyway, how does the coupe compare? I love the styling of the coupe, but I perfer 4 door. Other than the weight differece and the price tag, is there anything mechanically different? What kind of issues do the 09's have compared to the 06+ 3rd gear issue and rev hang?

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
TBH man with 2009/2010 shaping up the way they are....you have so many better options either on the way or out that the Si's are really falling LEAGUES behind the competition.

The sheer fact theres no factory turbo is devestating.

Don't rush into the purchase without testing out the competition...

Specifically the 3 year running champ for under 30,000 the Mazdaspeed 3.

You'll get your torque back, room, one of the best engines ever built for its class...and speed...a lot of speed.

There's also the 370z coming out which puts any remaining 350z's likely on clearance soon.

Challenger RT - though it eats gas looks so sexy

Hyundai Genesis Coupe coming out ...I know Hyundai but with their current "1 year guarenttee in this economy" thing its almost a no brainer to give them a look.

The 2010 Mustangs also shaping up to be a doozy.

As is the camaro coming out...the G8 GXP from Pontiac also nice.

I hate VW but the GTI is stylish on the interior.

Cobalt SS/TC also puts down some insane numbers.