8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5,662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well after owning 2 rockford fosgate p2 subs bridged to a 800 watt audiobahn amp I decided to later sell them as I grew out of the whole bass.

Well last month I decided I really wanted some bass in my car. So I had my local audio shop give me a ported box, 1 12inch sub "Their brand" hooked up to a 400 watt amp. The subs peak power I believe is 350 watts.

After having the setup for over a month I'm not to happy with it. It just sounds well "weak" It doesn't hit certain notes well especially since I listen to "metal" alot. It sounds almost like I have a 10inch sub. If I play rap or anything it sounds pretty good but just nothing near to that of my Fosgates.
So Now onto my questions. I have some knowledge or audio but not by any means a "expert"

Basically I just want 1 12inch sub, and a new amp. I am what I would call a Rockford Fosgate Fanboy, as I have heard them all and love the way they hit.

How many watts can our car battery and alternator withstand safely?

If I ordered a rockford fosgate P3 which is peaked at 1000watts what would be a good amp to go along with it?

I have found many amps tend to over heat and cut off which is what my audiobahn would do at certain volumes.

I have the OEM in dash Navi which I plan to keep and use the current wiring which is brand new. Would I need to get heavy gauge wiring?

·
Registered
81 Posts