8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just bought a civic si 2 weeks ago and my readiness codes arent setting... they told me to do a drive cycle and i have driven 800+ miles and still not set. the engine light is not on either, a mechanic said thats bad news. im not good with cars i need some good news /:

·
Does this do anything?
2,716 Posts
It should only take about 10 miles of constant driving above 65 mph to set the readiness codes, but it's gotta be a steady cruise, I've always had luck just setting the cruise at 70 and keeping an eye on it til they set. If they aren't setting, it should throw a DTC that will give you something to work with to fix the issue.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Let me know if you figure this out cause I cant get my cat or my evap set..... Drivin 700km I really need my inspection... Please help lol

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Let me know if you figure this out cause I cant get my cat or my evap set..... Drivin 700km I really need my inspection... Please help lol
same exact codes arent setting for me. anybody good with cars know what to do? ive driven 800 miles and EVAP + Cat wont set. i need to pass inspection soon

·
Registered
252 Posts
evap should set, but only over night. It also depends on how much fuel is in the tank. I think it cant be completely full nor completely empty. IT will monitor the vacuum the tank gets when the warm air constricts.

In the factory service manual there may be a section where it shows how to make those monitors pass. We had to do it for a certain car, stupid thing had to be crusin at 41mph turn the ac on and then slowly decell for one monitor. But once it did it it worked right away.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Ya iv tried all those. I keep hearing evap should set it self. If it's not setting and I'm not throwing a cel could there still be an issue with the system that needs fixed or is this cause I ****** with the tuning ?