8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it safe to drop the shifter into Neutral without pressing the clutch?
Just wondering, since I am quite new to Manual shifting.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Any reasons as to why this is a bad idea?
The way I see it, the car just drops out of gear... You need to apply the clutch in order to put the car in gear, but to take it out of gear, why would it be a bad idea?

This of course would only be done while braking.

I'm looking for a explanation. thanks!:confused:

·
Banned
325 Posts
jongallant said:
Any reasons as to why this is a bad idea?
The way I see it, the car just drops out of gear... You need to apply the clutch in order to put the car in gear, but to take it out of gear, why would it be a bad idea?

This of course would only be done while braking.

I'm looking for a explanation. thanks!:confused:
This is bad for your clutch as it disengages without actually being pressed resulting in excessive and very uneven wear.

Its also bad for your Synchros as they do not have sync gear changes without the clutch being pressed.

So in short. YES ITS VERY BAD. Just push the clutch, if your to lazy to do that, then you shouldnt be driving a stick.

·
Registered
267 Posts