8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Everyone,
New member here. I have been reading this amazing forum since I got my civic last year and decided to register just a while back. :)

I am still really new to the whole car part and mod scene, so please forgive me if I made any mistakes or say anything wrong.

I have a 2009 civic coupe LX. My question is: does any of your automatic civic feels like it is eager to "down shift"? I didn't really paid attention to it until my dad asked me about it. It seems like my automatic civic really likes to shift (into higher gear). So I would be accelerating up a long hill and the moment it hits 50 mph, it will shift up to what feels like the 5th gear. I know it shifted because the RPM indicator will drop (say 3~3.5K to 2k) and the car feels like it loss some torque and isn't accelerating any longer, like when you are cruising on the high way at 60 mph except it's at 50. I hope this is normal. :xyxnervou

Is it because of the civic is a econ box? Shifting to a higher gear as soon as possible to conserve gas?

·
Registered
196 Posts
Hey there, welcome to 8th civic!

I too have an 09 LX auto and am happy with how it runs. I suppose if you wanted to keep the engine from shifting to higher gears, you could put it in D3 when appropriate, like accelerating. I take advantage of the 1, 2, D3 selectors all the time! More fun to drive that way :wheee:

·
Banned
873 Posts
I have the same thing. For one, the Auto will not downshift unless its a super computer. Which it is not

I really give it some gas to avoid shifting to put loose the momentum of the speed its going at.

Going downhill if i break it will downshit and i can feel the tranny fall back.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I have an '09, EX, auto & live in Phoenix, AZ. It's fairly flat in Phoenix. However, if driving to the East or North, you get into the mountains & hills pretty quickly.