8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off, I’ve done a lot of searching. I’m having trouble finding an issue related to all gears. Not just 2nd and 3rd. I have an FA5. Above about 6k in every single gear, I’m having this shitty lockout. It let’s me out of the gear I’m in and as I try to proceed into the next, it just hits a wall and leaves me stranded in neutral for a couple of seconds. I’m a fairly new manual driver, but I’ve been doing well. I’m 99% sure that I have the clutch pushed far enough in. I’ve done the simple CMC/pedal adjustment. Assuming I’ve done it correctly, I can only imagine that either I’ve got an internal trans problem,(loose FW/PP bolt, worn clutch, etc.) or maybe the cables are stretched out??? Regardless, I’m changing the MTF to the Amsoil Synchromesh stuff. I’ve heard good things and somewhat bad... mostly good. I doubt this would fix the lockout issue unless I’m seriously low/high or the fluid is just old junk. I’m not insanely mechanically advanced and this is my first manual car. So any help would be appreciated.
On top of the lockouts, I have an occasional pop out of third gear. Along with the usual 2nd-3rd gear notchiness. And 6th gear is quite stubborn majority if the time. It can be difficult to get into.

EDIT:
Today, I switched over to Amsoil’s MTF. I was very surprised to feel how much smoother the shifts have become. Sadly, the lockout problem persists. Any help at all would be great.

·
Registered
23 Posts
the adjustment and mtf change should have helped for the most part... check the clutch master fluid reservoir. also 8th gens have a delay valve in the master and slave which really makes for a slow shift. you could assume the cables stretching out would make a difference combined with wear of every other adjacent component, i like to think this is why the stock cmc fails so much on these cars.