8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6,717 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an inverter installed in My car under the dash, When I have my laptopp plugged into the power outlet I get a lot of static on the radio no matter if Im playing it from an iPod, CD or whatever.. Its really annoying! Any ideas?

·
Registered
1,376 Posts
Chase said:
I have an inverter installed in My car under the dash, When I have my laptopp plugged into the power outlet I get a lot of static on the radio no matter if Im playing it from an iPod, CD or whatever.. Its really annoying! Any ideas?

i got the same problem... it may sound weird but playing songs from my laptop through the aux input sounds better, most likely from the equalizer settings in my laptop. but sadly i cant have it plugged into the converter.

·
Registered
3,847 Posts
I have no experience with laptops in cars, but my guess for the static you're experiencing would have something to do with the inverter more than anything.

I'm using the same logic as a bad ground on an amplifier...bad grounds on the power source only trickle down the line and usually result in "noise" through the speakers.

Wish I could help you out more. Maybe try different power inverters? Some may induce noise more than others.

·
Registered
6,717 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
the noise appears to be coming from the Laptop Power cable.. I discovered this when my line in cable came near it by accident and the static was amplified significantly.

Does anyone have any reccomendations for In car laptop mounts?

yes I do have a HP TOM TOM Navigation system.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
does the inverter plug into the 12v outlet? look up ground loop...could be ur problem..u could try it with the inverter pluggd into the 12v outlet if its not

·
Registered
6,717 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
no I have the inverter wied into the fuse box and grounded to the bolt that holds the clutch pedal to the frame.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts