8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had my 2008 CSX for three months now and have experienced nothing but frustration when searching for aftermarket bolt-on power-adders for this motor.

The frustration I'm facing is that there simply are no intake kits, headers or exhaust systems available for the 155hp K20Z2.

No, I'm not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination. However, I am a firm believer that when an aftermarket product is designed for a particular make and model, that product is tuned to deliver the most efficient increase in power for that model and therefore should only be used on that particular car.

What does that mean? That means that installing a Spoon Sports exhaust system (which for the 8th generation Civics is only available for the Type R) is counter-productive, as the exhaust has been engineered to serve the K20Z4. What results is either less of a gain in power than what Spoon intended, no change in power, or maybe even a loss in power.

So far, besides an incredibly expensive T1R carbon intake (not available yet) and Mugen's muffler for the K20Z2, there are absolutely no power parts available for this car! K&N doesn't manufacture air filters for this car. AEM doesn't make intake kits for this car. What's going on? I suppose that because only Acura's CSX and Honda's Civic 2.0GL use this motor companies have decided that it is not worth their while to perform the necessary R&D to manufacture a power part specifically for this motor?