8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright I'm new to the I-VTEC which is similar to a celicas 2zz_ge engine or lift (vvtl-i)

I have some questions sense my car only has 6k mileage and it only had 2 when the people brought it in because they never drove it (weekend car older couples)

1. Does i-vtec hit harder when engine is warmer?
2. Is i-vtec different in the 06 models 07 and so forth?
3. Is 7800 where you get the "full effect"

I just feel like mine doesn't kick has hard as my friends 08 or maybe I'm just over analyzing it too much.

I love having a dual over head cam you can hear it and it sounds like more air gets sucked in too if you keep your radio off.

Sorry if this is repost I'm new to all the honda world :)

·
Registered
7,229 Posts
1. the ecu wont allow vtec to engage when the engine is cold. once warm it hits the same.

2. 06- 09 models have the same exact engine. so they have the same vtec.

3. just shift when the light is solid for maximum seckiness

·
Registered
427 Posts
1. Only switches when the engine is fully warmed
2. i-vtec is the same in all
3. 7800 is peak hp
8400 is peak. dont let the redline fool you seriously. Your not gonna blow your engine up unless you do it all the time.

have fun! and dont be afraid to go to v-tec alot of people are scared because they dont want to bole their engines up. just remember thats why they built this car. to rev high.

·
Registered
2,080 Posts
8400 is peak. dont let the redline fool you seriously. Your not gonna blow your engine up unless you do it all the time.

have fun! and dont be afraid to go to v-tec alot of people are scared because they dont want to bole their engines up. just remember thats why they built this car. to rev high.
NO!! Peak HP is @7800RPM

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys!

I thought it was 8300RPM for TOP

I don't like revving over 7800(peak) cause its pointless.