8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've owned this 2007 European model Civic Type S (2.2 ctdi) for one month and I should clarify, i am a newbie when it comes to cars.

Background:
My fuel consumption was very high ever since i bought the car, and I though that might have been because I am not driving very economically and doing short city trips. I averaged 13l/100km.
It became very cold in my city lately , and the battery died on me once (though I was a reckless leaving ac and electronics on w/o engine running). I have managed to charge the battery back to an appropriate level and gave it a run to charge it back, no problems since then (except I kept having a Check Systems error for some time).
Now a couple days ago my battery almost died on me again (many errors coming on board, steering wheel moving hard) because i was forcing it again with a/c and electronics just after starting it while being cold. Now, i don't know if this is relevant to my issue, but i wanted to make sure you know this happened as it might be the cause of the following issue:

Issue:
My fuel consumption got way higher than before, right now staying at around 17l/100km.
I have stayed in my car for a couple hours some days ago, during which i have turned on the engine like once every 30 minutes to heat the cabin with some ac.
I don't think the engine was turned on for more than 1 hour in total, running on idle. That is when my average consumption went from 14~l/100km up to 17l/100km.
The average is not from a recent reset, i currently have 80km since last reset.
The fuel tank indeed lost way too much fuel, so it's not just the reading that's wrong.
Looking for possible causes, i found the possibility of having issues with my thermostat. That's when i realized that my temperature gauge is not even moving while i am using the car.

What do i need to buy /replace /do?