8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,506 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off: The information provided below is not intended to substitute that of legal advice provided by an attorney! 8thcivic.com, it's owner(s), and myself will not be held responsible for any legal issues arising out of the use of the below information!

This information is provided for informational purposes only!

Ok, now, with that said, I worked in the auto insurance industry for nearly 5 years, up to and including litigation capacities. I feel I am fairly qualified to provide you with the below info...

Feel free to PM me any questions you might have or post up in this thread and I will answer it to the best of my ability. I have helped out several members on this site with insurance related issues before and am willing to continue doing so.

Q: If my car is totaled will the insurance pay for my aftermarket (insert part here)?

A: No, not unless that part is specifically insured on the policy. This is common for wheels and stereos. Most companies will insure you up to a given value for these items (for an additional charge of course). I would not recommend telling your agent you have any type of FI, or other “performance mod”…It’s a great way to get canceled.

Note: If you really want all of your mods covered (say you spent 30k on mods) you can buy a "stated value" insurance policy. These policies really could care less if your car has 100000whp and quadruple turbo. They will cover you up to a stated amount..no questions asked. The catch: it's VERY expensive and usually your annual mileage cannot exceed 2500 miles and the car must be in an enclosed garage every night. These policies are generally for classic restored cars, imported GTR's, Supras with 60k in mods, etc.) Pm me if you would like some links to agents for these policies.