8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5,745 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the ideal AFR we should be seeing on a NA car? What should they be like under Vtec and under normal driving conditions? What are the danger zones in being rich and lean? I would greatly appreciate it for anyone who can answer.

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
I'm no pro, but I've done enough street tuning and research to provide you with a solid, safe answer--

The ideal ratio of air to fuel is 14.7 parts air to 1 part fuel, or 14.7:1, referred to as stoichiometric combustion (or just "stoich.") When balancing between efficiency and safety, this is best, and you should aim for it at both idle and cruising RPM (or as close as possible.)

Under heavy load and/or VTEC, everything under your engine bay becomes hotter, and will continue to rise in temperature depending on how prolonged the load is (track racing, etc.) Due to the high-revving nature of Honda engines, they are typically tuned to run rich in VTEC, since the extra fuel acts as a coolant in the combustion chamber. You want to aim for 12.x:1 in VTEC at full throttle (closed loop.) This is too rich for ordinary load conditions, though.

Running lean is GENERALLY more risky than running rich. Anything above 14.7:1 could be considered lean, and above 15.0:1 is pushing it, whereas running 14.0:1 (for example,) while rich, is not something to be terribly concerned about.

·
Premium Member
1,156 Posts
I'm no pro, but I've done enough street tuning and research to provide you with a solid, safe answer--

The ideal ratio of air to fuel is 14.7 parts air to 1 part fuel, or 14.7:1, referred to as stoichiometric combustion (or just "stoich.") When balancing between efficiency and safety, this is best, and you should aim for it at both idle and cruising RPM (or as close as possible.)