1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
i'm on 9psi but you can go a bit more, depends on the tune

·
Registered
344 Posts
its all in the tune. that being said, pump gas with a high compression ratio does have it's limitations.

400-450whp is a safe limit. with a good tune and no mechanical failures, the motor should last a very long time at those power levels.

·
Registered
8,668 Posts
there are quite a few guys running 15-17 psi on their stock blocks with various turbos/manifolds. the tune and what fuel its tuned on will determine how much boost you can run. Nobody has popped a motor yet from running too much boost. unfortunately it will take someone blowing there stuff to find the limit.

side note- i like how the ebay manifold guy is a friggin expert on boosting this motor all of sudden lolololol.

·
Registered
344 Posts
i like how you don't know who i am and I don't understand why you're giving me a hard time.

(I'm a mechanical engineer FYI)

was anything i said untrue thus far? i stated what a safe limit on any pump gas motor is with a 11.0+ static compression ratio. 93 octane fuel only has so much resistance to detonation.

my higher compression s2000 motor made 500whp on pump gas. thats kind of pushing it. i wouldn't recommend it unless you know the chance you are taking by doing so.

·
Registered
344 Posts
I also stated without mechanical failure, because some things are out of your control.
K series has a much better oil pump design than B series (chain driven pump won't shatter a gear due to harmonic vibration like the B's suffer) so you don't really have to worry about an oil pump failure.

But something like a failed wastegate (which would cause boost spike) could pop a motor. again there are precautions such as setting up boost comp tables and using a boost cut.

Injector failure is always possible and pretty common with aftermarket injectors.