8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently hit 31k miles and i was def due for a tranny fluid flush ive been sitting around for a couple of months trying to decide which fluid to go with. I purchased 2 quarts of updated Honda mtf and flushed the tranny today with a fellow Si owner and freind. I instantly felt the difference in 3rd gear it goes in smooth every time now i was getting bad notchyness and lock outs since like 12k miles. It feels smoother in every gear now i was getting slight notchyness in reverse,1st,1st to 2cd its all gone now and the car just feels that much smoother as a whole. If any 1 is having the same issues put some new Honda stuff in before going after market i like it alot :dancing:

PS - I have an 06 so i doubt the updated fluid was in there when i bought it also the tranny was slighty overfilled when we flushed it i put 2 quarts but i let the excess drip out before putting the bolt back on less then 2 quarts is needed according the the Honda manual.

·
Registered
26,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
itll come back, shouldve went with amsoil ftw, havent had a problem since.
I am sure it will i have a local Amsoil dealer near so its not a problem to get the fluid down the road when i need it i just like to stay oem when ever possible :thumb:

·
Hidy Ho Neighbor
29,707 Posts
The updated MTF fluid felt better for a while at first... The Amsoil is the way to go next chance you get.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
i actually had the same thing done, cept i got it done at 17k, im at 17.8, now, it was smooth for the first 2 week, than then it came back.

·
Scrodums
9,486 Posts
I felt no difference going from Amsoil to the Honda MTF. I do agree it's something you should do immediately after getting the car though.

·
Premium Member
98,627 Posts
big mistake. everyone who has gone with the updated stuff regrets wasting there doing so. should be back in a month or so.

·
Registered