8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I ordered a skunk2 shift knob yesterday, and I've been trying to decide whether or not to order a boot to go with it. Earlier today I got to thinking "there really isn't much to a shift boot", and I went out and started looking through my mom's sewing stuff. By the way, I have never used a sewing machine before in my life.

So here it is, my first ever DIY. This was just a test, my plan is to make one out of the same material as the seats and arm rests and stuff. No I'm not going to leave the bright yellow shift boot in my car........ although I bet I am the only person who has one.

Making the pattern
-----------------------
1. Take an 8 1/2" x 11" piece of paper, fold it in half vertically, and put it on the table with the fold on the left.

2. Using a ruler, measure from the top down 5 3/4" and make a mark. Move the ruler over a little bit and do it again. Use these 2 marks to draw a horizontal line across the paper.

3. On the line you just drew, measure 2 3/8" from the left and make a mark.

4. On the top of the paper, measure 1/2" from the left and make a mark.

5. Draw a line connecting the 2 marks you just made. It should now look like this:

6. Cut the pattern out and unfold it (its the triangular part). You are finished making your pattern:

Making the boot
-----------------------
1. Trace the pattern 3 times on the back of your material (the part you don't want to see when the boot is in the car). Make sure you leave some room around each piece, don't draw them touching each other. I used a sharpie for this, and it went through the material a little bit. This also probably wouldn't work on black material, so something besides a sharpie would be better. I have no idea what, if you know someone who sews a lot maybe they have an idea.