8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know Im new to the manual transmission and I am still learning about shifting and getting more comfortable every day. Im not stalling as much as I did the first day, haha...

But question is, when Im driving and let off the gas the engine seems to brake, but its a jolt forward when it does. if Im going 50 or 20 or 10 mph, if I let of the gass completely it jolts me forward a little when its slowing down....

·
Acorns!
17,760 Posts
how high is your rpm gage when you're letting off the gas? If your RPMs are way up and you let off the gas - it'll be worse than say at 2000k rpms.

·
Registered
201 Posts
One thing I noticed on the drive by wire is the throttle or rpms seem to linger or hesistate. If you are waiting for the sound of the rpm's to fall before engaging the clucth you might experience the jerkiness. Also if you are hammmering the clutch quickly when going thru the gears you will get a jerk as well. In the lower gears the lsd helps you with that, but the clutch itself has a quick push. I love it, but I am also pushing it eveywhere I go! :driving:

·
Registered
117 Posts
It can be a form of compression braking...
Just letting the high rpms to slow you down.

First gear is the worst case scenario of this.

·
Registered
518 Posts
yea i noticed this too.
so its ok?
or if im at 4000k rpm, should i shift it to the next gear- then coast it for awhile then gas it more?

·
Premium Member
7,195 Posts