8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know but, IMO i think the reason why they gave the civic si 139ft/lbs so that you will not get torque steer. To going around a auto-x track too much torque can slow you down, cause you can't accelerate through the turns. with less torque you can accelerate through the turns.
this is just what i've seen. Correct me if i'm wrong.
please give your opinions.

·
CHOO-CHOO!!!!!!
14,929 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but I was told the higher your rpm's go, the less torque you'll have down low. I know that's a crappy answer, but it's all I got.

·
Registered
1,987 Posts
mattsbobo said:
I'm no mechanic, but I was told the higher your rpm's go, the less torque you'll have down low. I know that's a crappy answer, but it's all I got.
That's basically right. There's a certain RPM (I forgot which-- it's like 4400 or something around there) where horse power & torque are equal & is the basis for dyno tuning. Once past that point, the engine is making less torque.

(per my understanding)

·
Registered
4 Posts
I think you answered your own question in your thread title : "4banger." What 2L n/a 4 cylinder motor produces a good amount of torque? none, so why should a honda be any different?

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
dan1 said:
I think you answered your own question in your thread title : "4banger." What 2L n/a 4 cylinder motor produces a good amount of torque? none, so why should a honda be any different?
i know a 4cly is not going to give you mad torque. just wanted to ask for opinions and answers. I've noticed there is alot of people complaining about the si not having enough tq.

·
CHOO-CHOO!!!!!!
14,929 Posts
I would give up 1k rpm's for a little more torque. I don't really take it to 8k that often anyway.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #12