8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 792 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received my Mugen short shifter a few days ago and i figured i would contribute by trying to do a DIY .This is my first attempt at this so pardon anything i missed. Bear in mind alot of these steps can also be found in the comptech or twm short shifter DIY. I might have done the steps in a different order but it all results in the finished product.

Tools needed:
12mm socket
14mm wrench
8mm socket or screwdriver
flathead screwdriver
large pliers or channel locks
6" extension
ratchet

1.Remove the shift knob losing the 14 mm locknut and unscrewing the shift knob counter clockwise.

2.remove the center console cover by pulling up on the outer edge, you can either use a plastic panel tool or you can pull lightly upwards with your hands.

3. Pull the passenger side lower panel down , it should come down quite easily and pop the side push pin with a small flat head screw driver .

4. On the driver side there is also the same pushpin , remove this also

5.Go to the rear of the center console open the compartment and remove the felt liner under the liner will be a 2 8mm screws, remove those .

6.In front of the shift assembly holding the console in place is also 4 8mm screws , but the only ones you have to remove are the outer ones.

7.Now after you perform all theses steps you have to remove the center console , to remove it lift the rear and gently pulllift up and backwards. Now only pull backwards and inch or two and stop . Look at the frotn passenger side of the console there is the ACC power supply connector . In the picture below it is circled disconnect this.

8.Now that you've removed the center console you should see this

9.Looking down at the assembly you should see 3 12 mm bolts, remove these bolts