8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 358 Posts

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Note to mods: I didn't have permissions to access the DIY forum. Please move this there or wherever else it belongs. Thanks!

Hi all, this is my first attempt at a DIY. I’ve used many other peoples’ DIYs and they have been super helpful, so I thought I would try and give back to the community. I’m a definite noob when it comes to working on cars, especially compared to some of the others around here, so don’t bash me if I do something stupid! I welcome constructive criticism and suggestions for better ways to do things . I hope others find this helpful!

Alright, so to start I put the front of the car up on jack stands, and removed the air intake, battery, and ECU/bracket. I didn’t document those steps with pics, it’s not hard, but if you have questions feel free to ask.

** NOTE ** if you are only doing the rear mount, you don't need to remove all of this stuff! Only if you are doing the full set of three mounts!

Here’s the engine bay with all that stuff removed

The order that you put the mounts on, according to Hasport’s instructions, is: (1) rear torque mount, (2) left-hand (tranny side) mount, and (3) right-hand (passenger side) mount.

Before starting on the rear mount, take the bolt out of the front mount so that the engine will be able to rock back and forth. Here’s a picture of the front mount, viewed from the top through the engine bay… you won’t really be able to get to it from here, but it’s dirt simple from underneath.

Here is a couple of pics of the front mount nut and bolt (17mm I believe) that you’ll be removing, viewed from underneath. Only take out the bolt that goes through the bracket attached to the frame:

Here’s the nut and bolt removed… don’t take the actual mount off or anything, just set this aside and save them for later