8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every now and then 2nd gear grinds and sometimes i feel like i hit it perfect and it doesn't go into 2nd cause a miss shift. Please, don't give me the driver error crap. I have been driving manual tranny for over 7 years. I just need to know WTF is wrong with my tranny. My car only has 700 miles on it. Thanks

·
Premium Member
81,069 Posts
Yes..

because its already hard to shift into 2nd without grinding without the short shifter. It will make it easier to grind with the short shifter installed.

The car can't keep up and basically by shortening the shift.. you are making the shift even faster making it more susceptible to grinding.

You can still shift fairly fast with the STS installed, you just have to get the timing down thats all.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes..

because its already hard to shift into 2nd without grinding without the short shifter. It will make it easier to grind with the short shifter installed.

The car can't keep up and basically by shortening the shift.. you are making the shift even faster making it more susceptible to grinding.

You can still shift fairly fast with the STS installed, you just have to get the timing down thats all.
So the cable bushing really shouldn't have an effect just the sts??? Is there a sts that works better or should i take it off and go back to stock "Truck Throws" Also would amsoil mtf make any difference?

·
Premium Member
81,069 Posts
So the cable bushing really shouldn't have an effect just the sts??? Is there a sts that works better or should i take it off and go back to stock "Truck Throws"
the cable bushing tightens up the shifts. It does not decrease the throw. How long have you had the STS on?