8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i've been looking thru old threads about clutch wear, didn't really find what i was looking for..

i own a 07 si with about 6.5k miles on the odo
and i don't think im a bad driver .. lol
i've learned stick on a previous car, and was rusty at first when i got my si

i don't powershift and for the most part i drive conservatively
but occaisionally while driving to work in the morning i dont pay attention to the rev hang issue and i guess my shifting gets a little ehhh (only happens with 1->2 though)

so the problem is.. my clutch feels like it engages farther out than before
i don't quite remember where it engaged when i first got it, but for some reason it's been feeling different lately..
right now it engages about halfway.. so i'm wondering,

how far do you release until the clutch engages?

any help would be appreciateddddd =D

·
Banned
675 Posts
all the honda si's clutches let out about half way and are softer than other cars, I have a late model 06 and just test drove a new 08 to make sure this was right and they drove exactally the same .I love my si dont worry about your clutch at this time it shoud last you with even horrible driving 20k

i drove the **** out of my 03 ser-spec v and got 82k out of my clutch w/ mods

·
Registered
2,964 Posts
I have seen several other people ask about the same think. I think the clutch feel changes slightly as it breaks in. I'm pretty sure mine did the same thing (07 EX MT). I remember thinking that it grabbed the instant the pedal came off the floor. It isn't like that any more. You should be fine.

·
Registered
661 Posts
Mine was exactly the same.
The clutch felt really stiff when I first bought the car in Feb.
After about 6 months (only around 3k miles... I don't drive all that much), I noticed the clutch starting to feel quite different. (must softer)

This is completely normal.