8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings Folks, newbie here.
Just picked up an 2008 Civic LX 4 dr sedan for my wife yesterday to replace her 1986 that has 67,069 original miles.

After thoroughly researching the vehicle I discovered there are no options for body side moldings, only door edge guards. In addition, there are only a few sites that offer custom body moldings for the
2008 (2006-2008) Civic.
Since the design of the car offers no protection I thought it be a wise investment to install the moldings myself.

Now for the problem, I am unable to locate the paint code for the vehicle,
the color is Alabaster Silver, I would assume the codes are the same for
2006-2008 I searched the owners manual, did a google search, and searched this site with no results. I learned on the Honda's there are two locations possible, drivers door pillar mount, or under hood about in the middle of the firewall, it's not there.

If anybody knows the location please advise.

Another thought, I know the custom painted ones will look good on the vehicle, however, since it paint over vinyl I'm thinking the paint will chip if struck by another vehicles door. Other option is install plain black unpainted molding which I think will detract from the vehicles appearence, although it may be more practical as well as several options on the width of the molding.

The custom molding I am considering buying is fastened by 3M tape, has anybody installed using this method and will it hold up.

Kindly give your advice about installing body side moldings. Thanks in advance for any information provided.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
check here for your paint codes...

www.paintscratch.com