8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. This is my first attempt at changing the oil myself....ever. What a car to start on, right? Anyway, this is probably a dumb question, but where can i place the jack and jack stands to lift and hold up the car? Is there a particular spot?

The owners manual says nothing about it. The hood is open right now, any help would be spectacular. Wish me luck!

·
Registered
31 Posts
I'll upload a picture of the jackstand point and the jackpoint in the front center momentarily. I just switched to Royal Purple and a hamp filter at 4200 miles 15% oil life meter and found the oil change to be much easier than it is hyped up to be. The filter is in a crap spot though. I didn't remove the passenger wheel either. I came in from behind it on my back and put a filter socket on, slid my wrench w/ a 4" extension in and loosened it just a 1/4 turn at the most. The rest i did by hand dropping the filter into a plastic bag. I reached up and careful to not crossthread the hamp filter tightened it by hand w/ a final 1/4 turn snug w/ the wrench. No lube tech is touching my Si.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Below you can see the front center jack point indicated by an arrow indented in a plastic piece directly in front of it. Also visible is a wrench hanging from the oil drain bolt to give you a sense of placement and direction. Underneath it you can see the necessary placement of the oil catch pan.

Next, is an example of a side jackstand point needed after raising your car with the jack. Make sure to engage your e-brake first and also wedge your rear wheels for added safety before jacking up your front end. This is a picture of the front right jackstand.

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·