8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just got my 2007 civic EX 42 or so days ago. I originally went in there for a FIT but the dealer swindled me due to the fact they told me to come in for a car that was not there. Anyways I have had some horrible experiences with my insurance company (recommended from the dealer) and was promised some things from the dealer that they could not do. So I went to another dealer (Hyundai) to inquire about trading my 27k mile car (awesome condition) for a Genesis coupe. After all the necessary calls I found out that I would be out almost 10k if I traded my car in. My car came out to 17,995 almost 20k with finance and all the dealer could do is give me 9,765 for my car! WTF! This dealer was a Hyundai/Honda dealer as well.:eek:mg:

·
Registered
456 Posts
From the research I have been doing your car was only worth around 14-15 when you bought it anyway and the trade in should have been right around 12 maybe closer to 10 is what I have seen.

·
Registered
1,321 Posts
3 year old car selling for 18k is pretty high already, even if it only has 27k miles on it. Just by going to honda website a new ex goes for $19,455. So sorry to say but you got taken on that used car.

But why turn that mistake into another one? You've had the car for less than 2 months and now you want to take another hit by trading it in? Overpaying for the EX in the long run isn't going to make that much difference but trading in your new to you car is not a good idea.

BTW your car didn't "depreciate" 10k. 9,765 is just what the dealer wants to give you. That isn't reflective of what the car is worth.

You need to figure out what you really want, and bring someone that is sensible to stop you from making rash decisions. The dealer didn't swindle you into buying an EX instead of a fit because you had the choice to walk away.

·
Banned
4,871 Posts