8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm driving down the highway at 70+ mph and I go to get off my exit and on the off ramp I go to shift into 5th and I can't....Then I try to go to 4th and that's locked out too... It wouldn't let me go into any gear. After almost panicking, I was finally able to get it into third after wiggling it around in neutral and pretty much forcing it in. Never had this issue before, I called Honda and they hadn't heard of it before either. The lady said they wouldn't be able to help me unless they could replicate it... this is the first time it happened to me so I doubt it will just magically happen while they're driving it.

Any ideas? It was raining a lot today, don't know if that could affect it at all. Doubt it, and I've been driving manual for about 4 years now, so I know how to shift...
:shrug:

·
Registered
3,320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
only a twm shift knob, nothing else. no short shifter, no cable bushings, no new linkage... all stock.

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
maybe you got too excited for that vtek :giggle:

see if you can duplicate the problem, if it does it again, change the tranny fluid.

but if it does it again, then dealer is your answer.

·
Registered
3,320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
maybe you got too excited for that vtek :giggle:

see if you can duplicate the problem, if it does it again, change the tranny fluid.

but if it does it again, then dealer is your answer.

maybe i will change the tranny fluid? whats that good stuff, isnt it like synchromesh or something?

thanks for the suggestion!

·
Registered
606 Posts