8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was repairing 2 spots on my hood and fender, there were too big for touch up paint. I went to a paint store and had them match the paint and got a spray can type of paint. I also got a spray can of clear coat. I sprayed the spots yesterday with paint and clear coat, but they still look ugly. The paint seems to be matching the color, but the surface is no where near smooth as the OEM paint. So you can pretty much still see the 2 spots even after I repainted it.

Is is possible to achieve the look of OEM paint with just a spray can of paint and a can of clear coat? I did about 3 coats of paint, and 3 coats of clear coat, but like I said the surface is still dull...

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
no, I was gonna wet sand it with the sandpaper from the scratch fix kit and then use the ultra finishing compound to buff it out, but since I have never done it before, I start to doubt that it will come out looking nice.

I still have to wait another 12 hours or so for the stuff to dry first. So you are saying after wet sanding and buffing, it should look like original paint?

Also if I don't have that ultra finishing compound or whatever, what should I use to buff it?

Ok here are the pictures.

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
Poor prep. Layed the paint too thick. Tape lines will never come out right.
Redo it or have a Pro do it.