8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the story is, a guy rear hit the side of my bumper. He admitted fault and will be paying for the repair. It's really scratched up with one area where I think a portion of the paint/plastic is gone. Luckily, there were no other damages anywhere else from what I can see.

Now because it's plastic, is it repairable or must it be replaced? Should I go to a dealership or some other shop? If the latter, any suggestions on some good places in the Scarborough/Markham area. Also, any estimate on what it might cost?

I've never done this before and am quite a beginner when it comes to this stuff.

Below are a couple of pictures of the damage.

Thanks

-Somewhat pissed

·
Registered
544 Posts
Looks pretty bad. Since the guy admitted fault and stuff, I would just get it replaced. And depending on if he's a nice guy or not, you might not want to get it replaced at a dealership since the price is going to be substantially higher. Buy the lip from Honda and have a garage do the work for you....

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looks pretty bad. Since the guy admitted fault and stuff, I would just get it replaced. And depending on if he's a nice guy or not, you might not want to get it replaced at a dealership since the price is going to be substantially higher. Buy the lip from Honda and have a garage do the work for you....
Any recommendations on a body shop?

·
Registered
716 Posts
it looks like it's just the paint down to the plastic. just that corner can easily be filled/primed, resprayed and blended into the rest of the bumper that you won't notice. and you get to keep your vin tag on the bumper. if i had to guess, a couple hundred? i would expect them to take off the rear bumper for the repair.