8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
17,753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So i have got some 18x8/37+ wheels mounted on 18/40/225 weigh 17.5lbs each..

The acceleration highly decreased coming from 15" wheels i was temporary using...

What is the reason behind that? which factor effect the acceleration negatively the most? width or diameter?

I just want to know for the sake of knowing and to be able to choose better fitments in future.

·
CHOO-CHOO!!!!!!
14,929 Posts
Well, other things we'd need to know are: How wide were the 15's, and what did they weigh?

I'm no expert on the subject at all, so hopefully somebody more knowledgable will chime in soon. I'm willing to guesstemate that the 15's are skinnier than the 18's, but that they weigh close to the same amount. If that's true,the 18's still have more mass, so it's taking slightly more force to rotate them.

Like I said, I'm no expert, and that's just my retarded theory. It made sense when I thought it up though, even if I'm completely wrong.:laughing:

·
CHOO-CHOO!!!!!!
14,929 Posts
Personally I don't think the 18x8 has anything to do with it, and I doubt the +37 does either. I really think it's a R18 vs mass equation.

·
Registered
17,753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I believe it’s the diameter that effects your acceleration the most.
That's what i heard too, but what would effect the acceleration more you think, a bigger diameter like 17s>18s or a bigger width 17x7>17x8.5?

I really got interested in the topic since it didn't have worth number of threads about it.

·
Registered
1,788 Posts