8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(Sorry to post yet another possibly dumb question.)

I was just wondering if anyone has had problems setting up the "auto door lock" feature on their new Civic?

I try to follow the manual and do the key / button sequence, but it never does the "second click" while holding down the door lock button.

I'm a PC technician and am usually really good at stuff like this, but this has me baffled!

Thanks-Jeff

·
Registered
342 Posts
You may want to ask at the dealership. I set up mine and it went exactly as the manual stated. I am however DISAPPOINTED that the auto unlock ONLY UNLOCKS THE DRIVERS DOOR. My other car is a '99 Olds Intrigue that locks and unlocks all the doors automatically (it is also programable).

·
Premium Member
7,195 Posts
You may want to ask at the dealership. I set up mine and it went exactly as the manual stated. I am however DISAPPOINTED that the auto unlock ONLY UNLOCKS THE DRIVERS DOOR. My other car is a '99 Olds Intrigue that locks and unlocks all the doors automatically (it is also programable).
If you hit the unlock button twice it should unlock the passenger side.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Jeff, just make sure that you have the key turned to the exact position that the owner's manual says to... I had it turned to the wrong position the first time I tried it.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I'll have to ask at the dealership. Something isn't right. I followed the plackard's directions over and over again and it just won't give me that second click while holding down the master lock button. Not a big deal. Thanks for the help guys.

Jeff

·
Registered
245 Posts
This should work. I just did it last night....Just be sure that you put the key in the 0 position right after you hear the second click.

I really wanted this so that the car would lock once it gets moving over 9 mph.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #7