8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
6x9...is there such a size??? well, im new to this speaker thingy..but im planning on replacing the stock speakers with Polk speakers...

Thanks for the info again:)

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
okay...is there a way to replace the 6x9, with ROUND speakers? because i hear that ROUND speakers have Better SOUND Quality....

·
Acorns!
17,760 Posts
I don't know who told you that. Really you get what you pay for. There will be 6x9's that will sound better than a 6" or whatever. You'd have to modify the car to get different sized speakers in there. What size do you want to put in? Or are you looking for bass?

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Just heard that from a forum awhile ago...so since im a rookie i tend to go with what people say....
but yea...im just looking to replace the stock speakers, so i guess whatever size the stock speakers are then i'll replace them with the same size...
and the bass, i already have a woofer coming so that's taken cared of...
Another thing is will the stock DECK be able to hook up an AMP and cross overs and all that fancy stuff, or would i need to replace the stock Deck too???

·
Premium Member
1,294 Posts
round speakers can produce better sound then oval or square

·
Premium Member
6,929 Posts
Go 6.5 in the front, and the tweeters are generic 1.1" I believe. Keep 6x9 in the back, you don't notice the difference between a $600 set of 6.5" and 6x9"s. Take out the 8" free air sub in the back and just box in a 10" or bigger enclosed sub. Free air subs are weak, and aren't very good if you want to go big with your sound system. If you want a moderate sound system, you can keep the free air 8" spot and replace the sub with a JL audio free air. I hear their free air subs are one of the best around.