8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ever since I learned that the ECU is responsible for the Si's rev hang, I've become very interested in it. This thing is a car tuner's dream box. It controls everything. By tweaking it, you can optimize you engine's performance.

I know Hondata specializes in ECUs, and many of you probably had the 75 dollar reflash done. But, has anyone bought one of their products which allow you to tune the ECU by yourself? The Hondata reflash is a generic reflash which isn't optimized for your car's setup. In order to get the most out of your car, you need to have a programmer custom program your ECU. Or, you can try doing it yourself.

I'm an engineering student, and I'm going to major in electrical engineering. So, this kind of stuff fascinates me. I'm going to learn more about ECUs and programming ECUs, and give it a shot when I have more time on my hands (this summer).

If anyone has played around with ECUs, or has any input on how else I might fix my rev hang, let me know. Thanks.

·
Registered
8,668 Posts
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.

you sound just like lessthenwise. Unfortunately the ECU is not accessable by 99.9% of us so we are all waiting for a tuning solution that will allow us to make changes to it. This ECU is definitely no tuners dream, its a friggin nightmare. The add BS like VSA and whatever its called that monitors tire pressure doesn't help one bit. My advice to you is don't mess with ECU in your car to learn how it works.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.