8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First things first... if Im retarded and/or this has already been posted before, let me know... Im new to this mechanical stuff. I did do a quick search and didnt find anything. so, here goes.

I recently recieved a OEM Si AxleBack and a Megan Downpipe to put on my 06 FG1. Now, I got the Si AxleBack on with no problems. But I couldnt put the Downpipe in because I didnt have a metric socket larger than 12mm. I need to go get that soon.

Anyways, while I was under the car, i was looking at the sizes of the piping for the downpipe and the rest of the exhaust.

The Megan DP is a bit larger diameter than the stock pipe, and thus, thicker than the following pipe (sorry, dont know what its actually called). Its the big long one that runs to the resonator? i think.

Anyways, the point of having the bigger pipe is to allow more airflow, more air = more power (sort of). well, isnt it kind of counter-productive to have a wider DP only to have t squeezed back down into the next pipe which is still stock?

Input/Quesitons/Suggestions/Criticism: all welcomed.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,049 Posts
downpipe? is that the same as a test pipe? I've only heard about downpipes on turbo'd cars.

anyways, if you are talking about what I call a test pipe then you are removing the cat, and then hooking up to the smaller piping in the catback exhaust.

I guess the rest of the system is still a little more restrictive, but does it really matter? The cat is gone and that is what really matters. If you want all of the piping to be larger then you'll need a full catback exhaust / custom exhaust.

·
Registered
17,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
TJ213 said:
downpipe? is that the same as a test pipe? I've only heard about downpipes on turbo'd cars.