8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2008 Civic Si Sedan

I decided on one 12' Alpine Type R and a Kenwood KAC-8103D Class D Mono Amp

I'm gonna use the factory HU and use the following install method.
http://www.8thcivic.com/forums/audio/12231-diy-installing-aftermarket-su

The amp is 300rms at 4ohm and 500rms at 2 ohm. Since the sub is 4ohm, I must also hookup the amp at 4hm?

Also, what is better for this setup a ported box or sealed?

This is my first attempt at hooking up a stereo and dont wont to fry anything.

Thanks in avance!!

·
Registered
3,847 Posts
to get a 2 ohm load at the amp wire it like this:
Subwoofer Wiring Diagrams

That's pretty straight forward.

Ported/Sealed depends on what type of music you listen to and the preferences for bass you have.

If you're going ported, you'll want to build the box yourself or have a shop do it so that it can be built to a specific tuning frequency. If you buy pre-fab you'll potentially not get what you really want.

If you go sealed, there's less work involved. Just get a box the right size and call it a day.

If you're doing this all yourself, I'd go sealed for now. You may like it, you may not. But it's much less work the first time out. And being a noob, to subwoofers, I'm pretty sure that determining the right box size, tuning frequency, port displacement, etc will be overwhelming.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
^^Damn

That sux, guess I need to rethink this. I dont wont to do any electrical upgrades. I didnt think a 300-500 RMS class D amp would have that much impact.

Anyone else out there running one KAC-8103D amp and one sub?

·
Registered
3,944 Posts
that amp will not pull enough current to do anything to your lights. If it does, there's cheap options to help.