8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, i am planning to add an aftermarket amp to the stock soundsystem, i have an 07 ex and i have a 4-channel vr3 400 watts amp, will it improved my stock soundsystem a lot? will blow my speakers? i am a noob when it comes to electrical stuff

·
Registered
134 Posts
It may improve it just a little bit as but the stock system is good if you are just going to keep your speakers and such. It won't blow your speakers.

·
Registered
3,648 Posts
indoxbo1 said:
so i shouldn't add an amp unless im planning to add aftermarket speakers also?
if you could only see the magnet on the stock speakers. I think they are the size of a half dollar. I'd wait til you get some replacements or you'll just be rewiring anyway.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
sgtpruitt said:
if you could only see the magnet on the stock speakers. I think they are the size of a half dollar. I'd wait til you get some replacements or you'll just be rewiring anyway.

ok thanks, i guess i'll just wait to save some more money to buy new speakers

·
Registered
302 Posts
Yeah def. replacing the headunit might make the stock speakers sound better due to more eq settings.

If you are gonna run an amp, then you wanna replace the speakers. you can do it for under 200 bucks.

I plan on getting a JL 500/5, IDQ 12, and CDT 6.5 coaxials.

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
Aside from the sarcasm, it's a better idea to replace everything at once so you don't have to do all that rewiring or have to pay a little extra if you go to a store to do it for you. I recommend a new head unit, new speakers and a new amp all at once.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Of course you'd get responses of 'replacing it all'...

350-Watt AM/FM/XM Ready®/CD Premium Audio System with 7 Speakers including Subwoofer ...is what you get stock.