8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I am a newbie when it comes to this satellite radio thing...On my si it has the xm/aux button. What do I need to buy to get xm or sirrius radio in my car? And which does everyone think is better. I am sorry if this has been covered if someone could send me a thread link that wold be much appreciated...

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
I bought the kit of the website I listed above and installed it myself...and I've never even looked at a back of a radio before in my life. It was fairly easy. If you want to run the wires right like the instructions says it involves taking the back seat out and stuff but that wasn't really a big deal IMO. Much better than paying the $240 the dealer wanted to install it.

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
brazilianguy said:
and the sound quality is good?
because i used my dad's sirius radio and the sound quality was awful IMO

yeah the sound quality is very clear to me except of course if you go under a bunch of trees a tunnel or a gas station lol. The instructions says mount the antenna on the front windshield..but its kinda big so i just did some changing around and stuck it on the back window near the FM antenna at the top.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
wow thats a lot of cash. I might just go a cheaper route, not really sure what the cheaper route will consist of or if there even is a cheaper route...

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
wow thats a lot of cash. I might just go a cheaper route, not really sure what the cheaper route will consist of or if there even is a cheaper route...
Yeah there is plenty of options out there to put satellite radio in your car that would be cheaper...it just won't be through the factory HU and the sound may not be as clear...at least from most the products I've seen or used.

·
Registered
778 Posts