8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really thinking of purchasing one. I've been dailying an NA miata for about 4 years now and I like it a lot. However, i'm looking to get something a bit more refined and with 4 doors for the kids.
Anyway I digress. I'm looking to spend less than $10k and i'd strongly prefer the sedan. What should I be careful about? I'm eyeing one thats $7500 right now with 175k on the clock. Should I be concerned? Is the paint shitty or only on some of them? Are these things essentially bullet proof?
Has anyone here gone from RWD lightweight roadsterish to an SI? I had a 2010 wolfsburg edition Jetta before I got the NA miata. It was a cool car, but I feel like it was just a jetta with a GTI engine in it without any of the cool GTI nick-nacs(projectors, nicer interior, better suspension, better looking GTI...) The story goes that there was a fire at a VW plant in Germany so they had a bunch of motors but no cars to put them in so they freighted the motors down to MX and threw them in Jettas and called them "Wolfsburg Editions."
However, the Civic SI seems to be well-engineered by Honda and not just a econocar with a nice motor in it. But it actually has upgraded suspension bits and a few nicer touches as well...or am I wrong?

·
Registered
124 Posts
The 8th gen Si's are great cars! But there are a couple things to look out for.

Yes many of the cars have paint problems. The strange thing is it seems that the Alabaster Silver and Rallye Red don't have the issue. My mothers silver GX didn't have any clear coat problems in the 12 years we had it. The 2006 Si I bought this summer is also silver and doesn't have any paint problems. If its another color its gonna be really hard to find one that doesn't have problems unless it has bee garaged its whole life.