8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I understand the Si requires premium fuel. Since I'm not a mechanic or have much experience with pinging, I'm making this thread so I can see what other people have experienced. My two questions are:

1) Have you had detonation in a car before? If yes, what car was it?

2) Have you or someone you know had detonation in the 6th gen Si? or previous Si?

3) Why do some cars adjust to lower octane while others don't?

thanks

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
SiFan4tic said:
Ok, I understand the Si requires premium fuel. Since I'm not a mechanic or have much experience with pinging, I'm making this thread so I can see what other people have experienced. My two questions are:

1) Have you had detonation in a car before? If yes, what car was it?
yes, detonation destroys rotaries in heart beat. but puts a major hurt on things like ringlands and rods in piston motors.
SiFan4tic said:
2) Have you or someone you know had detonation in the 6th gen Si? or previous Si?
from too much compression and the incorrect octane, pinging and knocking are easily heard.
SiFan4tic said:
3) Why do some cars adjust to lower octane while others don't?
thanks
umm. because they probably have 9:1 or 9.5:1 compression. our car will back off timing as much as it can when a knock is detected. But IMO, pinging is really easy to hear, at low rpms with a decent amt of throttle, pinging sounds like someone poured a bag of marbles into your cylinders. Detonation on the other hand, is more of a hesitation sound and a low knock combined.

Basically, run what you should and dont worry about it.

·
Registered
619 Posts
TRobJunior said:
So what if you used reg & switched to premium?
Taken from this article, I thought it was good (I think it answers what your asking?)http://www.misterfixit.com/deton.htm...